And I thought the cochlear implants were for her …

We have been enjoying Lei’s return to what for her is normal hearing. I wrote this reflection on the impact of her first cochlear implant on our family life shortly after her second implant surgery.

Parenting a Deaf and Gifted Child

Pic of Lei from behind, her aquamarine processor is visible. Lei heads back to school with her new CI activated for the first time. October, 2014

Last summer Lei and I were talking one night before she went to bed. She had been reading a book that I thought  put too much emphasis on the romantic interests of a girl barely older than Lei. I said I want her to stay focused on developing her inner self, not her appearance.

She replied, “I’m worried I’m going to lose all my confidence and only care how I look to boys. That’s why I want a cochlear implant.”

What now?

View original post 977 more words

Leave a Reply

